With Gratitude

Preparation

IMG_7387

We are packing again.  This time leaving our digs in Idaho.  We have been so fortunate to call this place home for the last four months.  Brad and I are both a bit melancholy to think we are leaving.  We reminded each other that leaving doesn’t always come with finality.  It is not forever.  And as I took my last, slow drive on the Moose-Wilson road, yesterday, I found my mind wandering to all the things I would like to do and see next summer under the steadfast watch of the Tetons.

11722065_10207619591113810_6723374246135380640_o

There is so much to be thankful for and my heart is full today as I reflect.  We have a most wonderful support system of family and friends.  I realize that family is in your heart no matter where you are.  They are not only the people who claim you by birth, but the friends you meet along the way.  They are the people who support your big, wild, crazy, plan.  Support your ability to change and grow.  Support the ways in which you fail and fail again.  They are the people who pick you up and dust you off and send you on your way.

IMG_0602

For every gut wrenching day of road school, there has been a sweet text, email or caregiver waiting with kindness to counter.  We have had some serious adjustments.  They have been desperate and loud and tearful. {Really.  Picture me jumping up and down in frustration.  Yelling for the kids to stop arguing.  Will laughing that I look just like a child.  Simmer in that for a second.}  However, we have gone days, now, with laughter and cuddles and morning chit chat.  I hear more often, I really loved dinner last night.  Let’s read.  I want to tell you what I learned (we are still working on that one).  I feel so deeply thankful, because the way has been carved with much anxiety and uncertainty.  The relief and joy of letting go of bad feelings is really sweet to the soul.  I’m learning it’s the least we can do for ourselves.

IMG_7213

We are thankful for the kindness of friends and family who have been helping us every day to make this trip possible.  Mail.  Dog.  House.  Days Off.  Golfing.  DMV.  Dress Alterations.  Repairs & Maintenance.  Girl Time. Sleepovers.  Pioneering.  Aunts.  Cousins.  Comments.  Text messages.  Calls.  Emails.  Strawberry Preserves.  Love.  Endless Support.  Thank you if you are one of those people who has given yourself to this adventure.  There are no words to express the enormity of our gratitude.  We are taking you with us in our hearts.  It’s almost time to hit the road.

Tomorrow, the much debated and ever changing route….

Leave a Reply

